

# AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

November 28, 2023 9:00 a.m. Government Center Board Room

#### Regular Session Minutes

## 1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Attendee Name	Title	Status
J. Mark Wedel	District #1	Present
Laurie Westerlund	District #2	Present
Travis Leiviska	District #3	Present
Bret Sample	District #4	Present
Michael Kearney	District #5	Present
Jessica Seibert	County Administrator	Present
April Kellerman	Administrative Assistant	Present

#### 1.8 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### .c APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the agenda, as amended.

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Michael Kearney
SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

Added item 8D- Committee of the whole meeting

item 8E- LRIP resolution

### 1.D Health & Human Services (see separate HHS Agenda)

# 1.E Citizens Public Comment by:

Charley Christenson spoke about Vacation Short-Term Rentals.

### 2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

A) Correspondence File-

November 15, 2023 - November 28, 2023

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

November 14, 2023

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$5,784,344.34

D) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

R&B 11-10-2023

R&B	\$1,457,918.00			Total	\$1,457,918.00

#### E) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Sales/Use & Diesel Tax, October 2023

General	\$286.36	R&B	\$1,470.09	Trust	\$29.59	LLCC	\$284.16
Parks	\$188.14					Total	\$2,258.34

# F) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Manual Warrants 11-15-2023

General \$1,219.28	State \$66,819.46	Taxes \$43,143.00	LLCC \$161.39
			Total \$111,343.1

### G) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Property Tax Overpayments 11-17-2023

Taxes	\$3,556.29	Tota	\$3,556.29

# H) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 10-26-2023

General	\$4,552.34	Trust	\$580.36	Forest	\$376.60	LLCC	\$57.39
Parks	\$247.20	R&B	\$1,708.00	HHS	\$3,184.21	Opioid	\$16.03
						Total	\$10,722.13

# I) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Tax Settlements 11-22-2023

Townships \$3,501,022.00 Total \$3,501,022.00

#### J) Approve Commissioner's Vouchers

Commissioner Warrants 11-22-2023

General \$123,9	74.82 Unorgan	. \$9,202.69	Trust	\$59,960.38	Forest	\$3,144.00
Reserves \$809.8	35 HH:	\$43,418.97	LLCC	\$9,837.69	Parks	\$11,608.72
R&B \$27,88	30.47 Stat	\$540.00			Total	\$290,377.59

### K) Adopt Resolution-

Donation - Sentence to Serve - VFW McGregor

#### L) Adopt Resolution-

Donation - Sentence to Serve - McGregor Area Lions

#### M) Adopt Resolution-

Sponsorship Resolution for City of McGregor LRIP Project

#### N) Approve-

Off Highway Vehicle Safety Grant 7/1/2023-6/30/2025

#### O) Adopt Resolution-

LG214 Premises Permit-Mille Lacs Drift Skippers

#### P) Adopt Resolution-

Application for Grant-in-Aid ATV Trail maintenance funds

#### Q) Approve-

Tax Abatement Financing Policy

#### R) Approve-

2024 Business Development & Recreation Grant

#### S) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 11-09-2023

General \$1,793.93	Forest \$258.75	LLCC \$115.12	HHS	\$1,996.19
HHS \$89.31			Total	\$4,253.30

#### T) Approve County Board Minutes-

COW 11-06-2023

# U) Approve-

Fire Protection Contract with City of Palisade

# V) Approve-

Affidavit for Lost Check

# Regular Agenda

3A Dennis Thompson – Land Commissioner

Motion to:

Approve Date and Time of 2024 Timber Auction

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

Dennis Thompson - Land Commissioner Approve Private Sale of Tax Forfeited Land to Eric Mann RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund Kyle Fredrickson - AIS Coordinator 4A Informational Only Aquatic Invasive Species 2023 Summary - Discussion Only RESULT: INFORMATIONAL ONLY MOVER: SECONDER: Bobbie Danielson – Human Resources Director 5A Motion to: Approve Job Re-Evaulations APPROVED (5 TO 0) RESULT: MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska Bobbie Danielson - Human Resources Director Approve Personnel Policy Updates RESULT: APPROVED (4 TO 1) MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund Commissioner Bret Sample voted No Mark Jeffers - Economic Development Coordinator 6A Approve City Participation Program Agreement RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney Andrew Carlstrom - Environmental Services Director 7A Motion to: Amend & Adopt The Greater MN Recycling Grant Resolution and Budget APPROVED (5 TO 0) RESULT: MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund Andrew Carlstrom - Environmental Services Director Accept and Sign Contract with Recyclops for Curbside Recycling RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska Andrew Carlstrom - Environmental Services Director 7C Informational Only Amendment to General Zoning Ordinance - Vacation Short-Term Rentals - Discussion Only INFORMATIONAL ONLY RESULT: MOVER: SECONDER:

8A Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Motion to:

Approve 2024 Legislative Priorities

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

8B

Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Motion to:

Approve Out-of-state Travel

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Travis Leiviska

SECONDER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

8C

Jessica Seibert – County Administrator

Informational Only

Administrative Updates - Discussion Only

Department Heads Meeting/Cannabis Training, Facilities Meeting, Meeting with DDA, MACA Executive Committee, working on year end reserves and budget presentation, Zoom meeting with Orion Difranco- Smith office, AMC basket items

9A

**Board of Commissioners** 

Informational Only

Commissioner Committees

H&HS Advisory, Arrowhead Regional Development Commission, Snake River 1W1P, Facilities, Arrowhead Counties Association, Planning Commission, Economic Development

Motion to Adjourn

Motion made at 12:33 p.m.

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

**Next Meeting:** 

Tuesday, December 12, 2023

Mark Wedel, Board Chair

Aitkin County Board of Commissioner

Jessica Seibert County Administrator